This is it… and tears running down my cheek…

michael-jackson THIS IS IT poster

I just saw This Is It, twice in a row TODAY! The first show was 6.45 pm at Plaza Senayan then the second one was 21.55 pm at Setiabudi Building. Call me freak, but – Yes, I am a big BIG fan of Michael Jackson, the King of Pop. On both shows I was cry a little – I can’t help it, I secretly wiped my cheeks and felt a bit embarrass thou no one looked, it’s too dark to see around, no one cares anyway and I bet some of them shed the same tears. The opening of This Is It, the interview with the dancers and backing vocals really moved my heart. Those people, who feel so proudly proud to be the chosen one, perform together with one of the greatest performer of our time, the one and only, the King, Michael Jackson! O how I envy them. They are also the last bunch of people who witnessed his greatness, and who were supposed to share the stage lights with him.

I Never Felt So In Love Before
Promise Baby, You’ll Love Me Forevermore
I Swear I’m Keepin’ You Satisfied
‘Cause You’re The One For Me . . .
The Way You Make Me Feel
You Really Turn Me On
You Knock Me Off Of My Feet
Now Baby-Hee!
My Lonely Days Are Gone

michael-jackson01I literally grew up with Michael Jackson songs and clips. My childhood, my adolescence, my youth, and so on they were all filled up with Michael’s spirit and works. It’s still clear in my mind when Dad bought our first karaoke machine in 1986, he also bought 1 karaoke cassette along with it, and then “Ben” becoming one of our first song to sing in karaoke. Then my brother bought his first cassette: Thriller, and those songs of Smooth Criminal, Beat It, Human Nature becoming our life’s soundtrack. And when “Bad” released in 1987, my brother again immediately purchased it, he only 9 years old at that moment and I’m only 8 years old. And ever since: Man In the Mirror, The Way You Make Me Feel, Liberian Girl, Dirty Diana, and others start to resounding in our daily. I still remember michael-jackson04the first time I saw Thriller clips on TV, I was stunned. Michael Jackson turned into werewolf and those scenes of dead people dancing, I will never ever forget that! As well as his other clips that has its own euphoria effect to people around the world. I can’t really remember his song that failed to catch my attention, all catchy and has a signature in it, O c’mon, you’ll know instantly almost all when it’s Mike singing. The high eeee—heee…. or the yell of Aww!!!.

What have we done to the world
Look what we’ve done
What about all the peace
That you pledge your only son…
What about flowering fields
Is there a time
What about all the dreams
That you said was yours and mine…
Did you ever stop to notice
All the children dead from war
Did you ever stop to notice
The crying Earth the weeping shores

michael-jackson05I love love love his album titled History – Past, Present and Future. When I figured that my brother bought it, I was so so exited. Can’t really remember  how he can afford it back at that time! Hahaha. O well, if I’m a big fan of Michael Jackson then my brother is a Die Hard Fan! Hehehe.  We put the CDs in the car and driving everywhere with it!  And used to do the it’s black it’s white, it’s yea yea yeaah… with head swing left to right over and over again. The beat, the lyrics, the composition, the vocal, the improvisation, all mixed well to my ears, I fall in love more and more. He’s one of very few celebrities that I really really dying to meet face to face, to the point I dream about him, the moment I meet him and how will hug him tight.

It’s always a cruel world for celebrity out there, and Michael Jackson for me – personally –  seemed like always try to cope up with it! With his personal life exposed like bright color outfit behind the big glassmichael-jackson06 of window shop, and how his childhood gone just like in a snap of a finger by performing from stage to stage, from one television show to another, to one tour to another, and who won’t lost inside that world? All about Michael Jackson story reached me far too well even when I was lived in a small town in the middle of nowhere back then. I read about him here and there, the information was so thorough that you couldn’t tell the different of which one is true and which one is man made up. About him being obsessed to be white, about him doing a lot of plastic surgery, about his family dispute, about he made his own Dreamland, about the charges, about his concerts, about his love life, about his kids . It seems that we’re nowhere to having a vague idea about what is going on in Michael’s mind and tormented little heart, even to the moment he died. Man, none of those news can make me less of a fan of Michael Jackson! I’m still inspired by his passion, by his vision of one great performance, of perfection in all things he did. No, no one can deny that he had have always tried his best on the stage.

But They Told Me, A Man Should Be Faithful And Walk When Not Able,
And Fight Till The End But I’m Only Human
Everyone’s Taking Control Of Me, Seems That The World’s Got A Role For Me
I’m So Confused. Will You Show To Me You’ll Be There For Me
And Care Enough To Bear Me

michael-jackson THIS IS IT poster 1“This Is It” is like a proof documentary to the whole idea I had regarding Michael Jackson. You might say,” but you don’t know Michael Jackson personally Lo” and I’ll say “The heck, you don’t know Oprah or Ali or Madonna, or Bono personally, so what makes you say they’re soo good?” From what I’ve learn, Michael was solely born to be on stage with those big lights spotted only towards him, showered with applause, moving and dancing his heart out then became a legend in the end. A lot of people wants to be Michael Jackson, proven that his impersonate just as many as Elvis has.

In his entire documentary, we can always see how he knew exactly what kind of performance he desire to present. He had a clear vision of things he yearn for his audience to experience, to hear and how exactly to reach it… he know unerringly his song. When you sing a long MJ’s songs don’t you just know exactly the bridge, the heeee-eeee, the Awww!! The pause? That’s how his perfection of one song embedded spontaneously to our mind, that’s how we remember him always. When you are aiming for perfection, everybody else around you, who’s involved in the project will follow you. And This Is It, recorded it all. One of his supporting crew said “Michael is a perfectionist, you can’t fool him. He knows exactly his music”. michael-jackson and orianthiSo True! Instead of only say “Thank you” he would say “God Bless you”. Yes he wanted one perfect performance but not just thinking of himself. We all remember the scene when he said to the young female guitar player, Orianthi Panagaris, “Give it a loooong high pitch! It’s time for you to shine!” wow… and that was how he brings out the best from the people around him, they shines too.

Get Me Out
Into The Night-Time
Four Walls Won’t Hold Me Tonight
If This Town
Is Just An Apple
Then Let Me Take A Bite
If They Say –
Why, Why, Tell ‘Em That Is Human Nature
Why, Why, Does He Do Me That Way
If They Say –
Why, Why, Tell ‘Em That Is Human Nature
Why, Why, Does He Do Me That Way

For obvious, Michael Jackson is NOT perfect. Well, no king is perfect in the history of human kind anyway. But his idea of one perfect world, we have to admit, we can accept. Michael found himself when he’s showered by bright lights upon the stage, not off the stage perhaps. We all love object that shines, therefore we always love Michael on stage. And for us – a fan – in my heart, he always shines. It’s so hard to not idolizing a person who put all of his heart to his work and then create legend after it! So no matter what, he’ll always be the one who win my heart out among all male performer. He’s still the greatest!

Like A Comet Blazing ‘Cross The Evening Sky, Gone Too Soon
Like A Rainbow Fading In The Twinkling Of An Eye, Gone Too Soon
Shiny And Sparkly And Splendidly Bright, Here One Day, Gone One Night
Like The Loss Of Sunlight, On A Cloudy Afternoon, Gone Too Soon
Like A Castle Built Upon A Sandy Beach, Gone Too Soon
Like A Perfect Flower That Is Just Beyond Your Reach, Gone Too Soon
Born To Amuse, To Inspire, To Delight, Here One Day, Gone One Night
Like A Sunset, Dying With The Rising Of The Moon, Gone Too Soon

michael-jackson09

2 thoughts on “This is it… and tears running down my cheek…

Leave a Reply

