The Christmas 2009 – The Very Fun Single Christmas Celebrations

“Time was with most of us, when Christmas Day, encircling all our limited world like a magic ring, left nothing out for us to miss or seek, bound together all our home enjoyments, affections, and hopes, grouped everything and everyone round the Christmas fire, and make the little picture shinning in our bright young eyes, complete” ~ Charles Dickens

But Christmas wasn’t just the Sunday School Celebration for me, after the kid’s performance on 12th of December, I got another things to prepare. Some Church friends from single group, asked me to help them out with the Single Christmas celebration with theme: Friendship. I thank God for trusting me that. They need my help to in-charge on the game together with Benny. The game suppose to make the whole event fun and to make it efficient should be combine with exchange gift. My sister supposedly to sing the opening song “That’s What Friends are For” solo, but she was thinking it’s going to be a little weird to sing friendship song “alone”, so she asked me to sing duet which I approved almost instantly. Well, nothing to consider, it’s my sister and I like the song. 

It was conduct on 18th of December, at 11 am. We arrived at Church for preparation at 9.30 am. Not much to do since it’s just a simple event. The purpose was to make everyone feel close to each other and having fun but still remembers the meaning of Christmas. And yes, it turned out to be so fun! We laughed our heart out from one session to another. The participant was only 120 something people – single male and female. There was several performances that day, a magician act, a really funny drama from Central zone which I was involved as a supporting cast (Krisdayanti big fan), then there some singing, poem reading and of course we don’t forget the preach, the Christmas Reflections.

I know it's blur, but can't get any other picture of me singing with my sister :')

The Happy Singers 🙂

No Christmas without people with red hat singing 😀

I, well, feel bad about this, forgot to bring any gift to exchange. So I don’t get any gift as well. Thank God I was the one who lead the session so I didn’t feel too awkward hahaha. We’re playing The White Elephants games (basically Benny’s idea), since it’s a big group so for the exchange we put them in smaller groups. We collect the whole gifts and each group can grab one and they can exchange with another group whether they want it or not! We could see the reluctant faces to exchange their nice gifts with the simpler one… hahaha… but they have to, that’s the rule of the games.

So we closed the celebrations with a pray, and the big smiles stayed on our face for the rest of the day. How much I wish you had a great time like we did for this Christmas.

A Christmas candle is a lovely thing;
It makes no noise at all,
But softly gives itself away;
While quite unselfish, it grows small.
~ Eva K. Louge
Leave a Reply

