Upon That Rock I Stand

I just found this poem, unintentionally. I was trying to find a quote about “stingy” and this poem there… brief, strong, meaningful. I got to post this on my blog I said to myself.

I have made up my mind that if there is a God, he will be merciful to the merciful.

Upon that rock I stand.

That he will not torture the forgiving.

Upon that rock I stand.

That every man should be true to himself, and that there is no world, no star, in which honesty is a crime.

Upon that rock I stand.

The honest man, the good woman, the happy child, have nothing to fear, either in this world or the world to come.

Upon that rock I stand.

~ Unsourced
Leave a Reply

